A-z - Animals

Amphibians: Different Types, Definitions, Photos and More

The official classification of amphibians is amphibians. Amphibians are vertebrates that need water to survive, they are cold-blooded and spend their time on land as well as in water. While other animals only live on land or in water, amphibians have the unique ability to thrive equally in both environments. Amphibians comprise more than 6,000 different species worldwide, but about 90 percent are frogs.

Characteristics of 7 Amphibians – List

Amphibians, like any group of animals, have unique characteristics unique to their taxonomy. If you're not sure if the animal is an amphibian, check out this list of amphibian characteristics.

  • Fertilization of an external egg. In terms of reproduction, amphibians don't need to mate before they release transparent eggs with a jelly-like texture. Instead, their eggs are fertilized after fertilization. During metamorphosis, amphibians develop beyond this state.
  • Adults grow 4 legs. Although there are a few exceptions, most amphibians have four legs. Scientists believe they evolved from lobe-finned fish, which may be why they still need moist environments.
  • cold blooded. Like reptiles and fish, an amphibian is cold-blooded, meaning its internal temperature matches that of its surroundings. By doing this, these animals prevent the environment from damaging their bodies. Find out all the differences between amphibians and reptiles here!
  • Carnivorous appetite. The average frog or salamander might not indulge in big game, but every amphibian is a carnivore. Anything they can swallow, as long as it is small enough, becomes their dinner. Some toads will even eat mice.
  • primitive lung. As each amphibian evolves during metamorphosis, so do their lungs. They must function as gills while the animal is still underwater, but they allow the animal to breathe directly through the skin as an adult.
  • Live in water and land. When amphibians are born, they will start living in water. However, their natural evolution makes them mainly live on land. Whether in water or on land, these animals must have a moist environment.
  • vertebrate. Every amphibian, regardless of its origin, has a backbone. This backbone begins with cartilage and changes as other organs also undergo metamorphosis.
Read more  Baby whales: 5 pictures and 5 facts

Unlike closely related reptiles, amphibians also don't have any scales.

amphibian name pacman frog horned arowana cranville wild type or
A frog is an amphibian.

©Nidal Haiqal/Shutterstock.com

amphibian exception

Like any animal class, there are some amphibians that don't quite fit into this mod. For example, while many amphibians have grown four legs to walk on land, there are some that don't—blinds, sirens, and amphibians.

No caecilian species has more than this simple exception. In addition to having no legs, these amphibians also have no underwater stage in their lives, and they release live young during reproduction rather than laying unfertilized eggs. They can be viviparous, nurturing their young internally (as in pregnancy).

Different Types of Amphibians

Amphibians are divided into three groups: Anura, Anurida, and Cauura.

  • Anura: Also known as Salientia, this group mainly includes toads and frogs, making them one of the most important orders of this class.
  • Apoda: The least familiar order, this group of amphibians mainly includes caecilians that live underground and in streams.
  • Urodela: These amphibians include salamanders and salamanders, with tails and elongated bodies. They also have fewer bones in their skulls.

Types of Amphibians

african bullfrog

The African bullfrog is one of only three species of frogs that have "teeth."

African clawed frog

The African clawed frog was used as a pregnancy test from the 1930s to the early 1960s.

american toad

They secrete a milky, poisonous fluid that can make many animals sick.


Babies of some species peel and eat their mother's skin with their hooked or spatula-like teeth

fire salamander

Its name comes from the belief that it was once born in a fire

Read more  Rat Tooth: Everything You Need to Know

There are approximately 7,000 different species!

giant salamander

Cryptobranch salamanders breathe mainly through the skin.

gray tree frog

This frog can "freeze" itself by turning glycerol into glucose, which acts like antifreeze and stops its heartbeat and breathing!


Frogs will eat any animal they can fit in their mouths.

holy cross frog

The Holy Cross frog has a cross-shaped colorful pattern on its back.

mantra frog

Some of the Smallest and Most Brightly Colored Frogs in the World

mud dog

Mudpuppies never leave their larval stage. This is called neoteny.


Ability to regenerate lost or damaged limbs!

oh i am

Inhabit dark underwater caves

Red Eyed Tree Frog

Despite their spectacular colors, red-eyed tree frogs are non-venomous and can be kept as pets.


There are over 700 different species!

scrotum frog

A frog's ears are underdeveloped, and if it can hear, it's likely through its lungs.

tree frog

Discover in warm jungles and forests!

turtle frog

A turtle frog can eat more than 400 termites in one meal.


The wood frog lives as far north as any other North American amphibian, including the Arctic Circle.

List of Amphibians

about the author

10hunting.com is a growing team of animal experts, researchers, farmers, conservationists, writers, editors, and of course pet owners, coming together to help you better understand the animal kingdom and how we interact .

Amphibians: Different Types, Definitions, Photos and More FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

What are amphibians?

Amphibians are cold-blooded vertebrates that start life in water before they grow legs and walk on land. They have no scales and are carnivores. During reproduction, they release eggs that are fertilized outside the body.

Read more  5 Green and red flags

What animal is an amphibian?

Most amphibians are frogs. However, the classification also includes toads, salamanders, salamanders, and related animals.

What is the largest amphibian in the world?

The Chinese giant salamander is larger than any known amphibian in the world. While the name covers five different species, the largest was discovered in the 1920s and was 5.9 feet long.

What is the smallest amphibian?

The small bag frog is the smallest amphibian. It is found in New Guinea and is only 7.7mm long, as recently as 2012.

What are the 7 main characteristics of amphibians?

Amphibians have a backbone, are cold-blooded, need moist places to survive, can breathe air through their skin, can fertilize their eggs outside the body, eat meat, and grow legs when they mature.

What are the Different Types of Amphibians?

Amphibians are divided into three main types: Anura, Anurida, and Cauura.

Are turtles amphibians?

No, turtles are reptiles.

What is the Difference Between Reptiles and Amphibians?

While both groups of animals are cold-blooded vertebrates, only amphibians can live partly in water and partly on land. Reptiles have scaly skin while amphibians have smooth skin. They even breathe differently — reptiles have lungs, while amphibians breathe through their skin.

Thanks for reading! Have some feedback for us? Contact the 10hunting.com editorial team.